Sommaire
Edito
Temps fort
Tribune
Succès
Paroles d'experts
Solutions
En bref
Sondage express
Agenda
Version PDF
 

Abonnez-vous à
Bull Direct :

Votre email

Archives
n°28  |  Juillet   2008
Succès

• Conseil de l'Union Européenne (UE)
• Comté de Maricopa (Etats-Unis)
• CH de Winchester et Eastleigh (Royaume Uni)

Centre Hospitalier de Montfavet (France)
Agence de l’Eau Loire-Bretagne (France)

Globull à la conquête de l’Union européenne

Le Secrétariat Général du Conseil de l'Union Européenne (SGC UE) a récemment fait l’acquisition de plusieurs dizaines de Globull.


Les fonctionnaires Européens ont un réel besoin en outils de traitement, de stockage et d’échange d’informations conjuguant mobilité et sécurité.

Le Secrétariat Général du Conseil de l’Union Européenne est composé d’approximativement 3500 fonctionnaires où assimilés issus des 27 Etats membres. Ils sont autant d’utilisateurs mobiles potentiels car régulièrement en mission ou amenés à travailler dans des endroits autres que leur lieu de travail. Ces fonctionnaires ont de facto la nécessité de pouvoir traiter et échanger entre eux des documents sensibles ou classifiés UE.

Pour répondre à cette problématique, le Secrétariat Général du Conseil de l’Union Européenne a lancé en 2004 le projet ‘NOMAD’ consistant, au travers d’un unique PC portable, à pouvoir créer des documents sensibles ou classifiés puis à les envoyer au travers d’un quelconque média de communication. Ceci de façon sécurisée, de bout en bout et quelque soit l'environnement d'emploi. Par exemple, le vol du PC ne devait pas donner lieu à compromission. Une telle solution n’étant alors pas disponible « sur étagère » à l’échelle UE, le SGCUE a donc réalisé une étude de sécurité qui a débouché sur une architecture spécifique, opérationnelle depuis 2006, mais qui a un coût : Portable durci et TEMPEST, carte hardware agréée de chiffrement, module de chiffrement de fichiers agréé, interfaces de communication, etc. Elle est également lourde d’emploi : poids élevé, volume important. Elle est donc réservée aux besoins relevant d’un haut niveau de sensibilité des informations en environnements non maîtrisés.

De TrustWay RCI à Globull, une maîtrise historique de la sécurité informatique
S’agissant des informations relevant d’un niveau de sensibilité moindre, Le SGC UE a opté en 2007 pour les clés TrustWay RCI de Bull. C’était en effet le seul produit disponible sur le marché présentant des garanties de sécurité issues d’une agence gouvernementale et présentant – de part sa technologie issue du monde de la ‘Défense’ – une véritable révolution dans le domaine de la sécurité.

Globull, issu de la même technologie que les clés RCI, offre aujourd’hui une réponse encore plus adaptée aux besoins conjuguant mobilité et sécurité : améliorations techniques portant la capacité mémoire à 60 Go, fonctionnement sous Windows XP virtualisé, interface Homme Machine conviviale, etc.

Les experts INFOSEC du Secrétariat Général du Conseil de l'Union Européenne ont aujourd’hui achevé la phase de configuration de Globull pour adaptation aux besoins UE et Globull sera prochainement distribué à plusieurs catégories de fonctionnaires pour validation opérationnelle.
Sébastien Léonnet, expert sécurité au sein du Secrétariat Général du Conseil de l’Union Européenne souligne : « Globull s’intègre aujourd’hui totalement dans le projet NOMAD. Il répond à notre problématique du traitement/stockage/échange d’informations sensibles jusqu’au niveau RESTREINT UE. Il est par ailleurs petit, discret (cet aspect est d’importance lors de missions dans certains pays) et son ‘design’ est particulièrement apprécié. Je pense également que ce genre de solution remplacera, à terme, les disques durs extractibles utilisés sur nos LAN/WAN classifiés ».

Actuellement en cours de paramétrage et d'expérimentation au sein du SGC UE, Globull a été officiellement présenté à l’ensemble des 27 Etats membres début avril, à l’occasion d’un Comité de Sécurité en composition INFOSEC.

ENVOYER A UN AMI POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS
Contact  |  Site map  |  Legal  |  Privacy

Contents
Editorial
Tribune
Hot topics
Business cases
Experts voice
Solutions
At a glance
Quick poll
Events
PDF version
 

Subscribe to
Bull Direct:


 

Archives
N°28  |  July   2008
Business cases

• European Commission (European Union )
• Maricopa County (USA)
• Winchester and Eastleigh Healthcare NHS Trust (UK)

Montfavet Hospital Center (France)
Loire-Brittany Water Agency (France)

European Union won over by Globull

The Secretariat-General of the European Commission has recently acquired several dozen Globull devices.

EU executive staff have a real need for tools that can process, store and exchange information while combining mobility with security
The Secretariat-General of the European Commission (SGEC) is made up of some 3,500 officials and related workers from the 27 EU member states. All of these people are potential users of mobile computing, as they are regularly expected to travel on EU missions, or are often obliged to work away from their usual office. What is more, the very nature of their jobs means they need to be able to handle and exchange sensitive or classified EU documents between themselves.

To meet this challenge, in 2004 the Secretariat-General of the European Commission launched the ‘NOMAD’ project: an initiative to enable staff to work from a single, standalone laptop PC, in order to create sensitive or classified documents, and then send them via any available communication channel, with end-to-end security, whatever the environment being used. The aim was, for example, that the loss or theft of the laptop would not compromise the security of the content held on it. This kind of solution was not really available ‘off-the-shelf’ on the huge scale required to supply all EU staff. So the SGEC carried out a security assessment survey, that led to the specification of a dedicated architecture which has been operational since 2006, but which comes at a cost, featuring a high-spec, rugged laptops and with TEMPEST countermeasures, certified encryption hardware card, encryption module for certified files, communication interfaces... It is also cumbersome physically, being both large and heavy. So it is reserved for those situations which involve information classified as highly sensitive in uncontrolled environments.

From TrustWay PPS to Globull: Bull’s historical expertise in IT security
When it came to handling less sensitive data, in 2007 the SGEC opted to implement Bull’s TrustWay PPS (Personal Protection System) USB keys. This was effectively the only product available that offered appropriate security guarantees to the level required by a government agency. So, because of its defense-standard technology, at the time it represented a real revolution in IT security.

Globull is based on the same technology as the PPS keys, and now offers a solution that goes one step further towards combining mobility and security, with technical advances including a much greater memory (60 GB), a system that operates under virtualized Windows XP, user-friendly human-computer interface, etc.

INFOSEC experts from the SGEC have now completed the configuration phase, adapting the Globull devices to meet the EU’s requirements, and they will soon be distributed to several categories of civil servants for field testing.
As Sébastien Léonnet, security expert working for the Secretariat-General of the European Commission commented: “Today, Globull is an integral part of the NOMAD project. It meets the challenge we face in handling, storing and exchanging sensitive information for all levels of data classification, up to and including ‘EU RESTRICTED’. It is also small, sober (something that is vitally important when it comes to carrying out our work in some countries) and people particularly like the way it is designed. I also think that this type of solution will eventually replace the extractable hard disks used on our classified LAN/WAN networks.

Currently in the process of being configured and trialed within the SGEC, Globull was officially presented to all 27 member states at the beginning of April, at a meeting of one of INFOSEC’s Security Committees.

Contact  |  Site map  |  Legal  |  Privacy