Sommaire
Edito
Tribune
Temps fort
Succès
Paroles d'experts
Solutions
En bref
Agenda
Version PDF
 

Abonnez-vous à
Bull Direct :

Votre email

Archives
n°35  |  Mars   2009
Parole d'expert

L’infogérance s’adapte à la nouvelle donne énergétique
Philippe Pauty, directeur infogérance de Bull et du Data Center de Trélazé

L. Mourer

Grâce à la mutualisation et à l’industrialisation des ressources, des équipements et des processus, l’infogérance offre aux entreprises et aux administrations une réponse efficace et pertinente à leurs enjeux métiers. Mais les infogérants ont à relever un nouveau défi : la gestion de l’énergie. Pour faire face aux contraintes économiques, écologiques et réglementaires induites par l’explosion des coûts de l’énergie, ils vont devoir mettre en œuvre des méthodes industrialisées de pilotage au quotidien. Afin de respecter ses engagements d’infogérant, Bull prend d’ores et déjà en compte cette nouvelle donne au travers d’investissements significatifs et innovants sur ses sites de Trélazé et de Saint-Ouen.

 

Dans un contexte économique difficile, le système d’information (SI) est plus que jamais l’un des leviers fondamentaux de la performance des entreprises et des administrations. Pour être en mesure de répondre aux attentes légitimes des métiers, le SI doit faire preuve d’agilité tout en délivrant une qualité de service irréprochable. Pour les DSI, atteindre ce double objectif signifie relever jour après jour d’innombrables défis : mise en œuvre de nouveaux services  (parfois sur des plages horaires inhabituelles), intégration de nouvelles technologies, exigences de disponibilité et de sécurité, explosion des volumes et de la complexité, maîtrise de l’hétérogénéité… Et tout cela avec des budgets toujours plus serrés.

En apportant à leurs clients l’assurance de disposer de ressources, d’infrastructures et de méthodes à l’état de l’art ainsi que des garanties contractuelles en termes de qualité de service et de maîtrise des coûts, l’infogérance permet aux entreprises et aux administrations de tirer le meilleur d’un système d’information qui évolue au rythme de leur activité. Bull a développé un fort savoir-faire de ce modèle désormais reconnu de la gouvernance informatique et s’appuie sur ses ressources industrielles pour garantir à ses clients des niveaux de service optimum à des coûts maîtrisés. Au cœur de ce dispositif, un véritable outil industriel : le Data Center. Bull le fait évoluer en permanence, avec des technologies à l’état de l’art, des processus de service industrialisés, l’adoption de meilleures pratiques et la mise à niveau permanente des compétences techniques et métier.

L’émergence de l’enjeu énergétique
Or un nouveau paramètre est en train d’émerger, bousculant en profondeur l’équation technique et économique du Data Center : l’énergie. Tandis que les besoins informatiques continuent leur croissance galopante (en raison, par exemple, de l’appétence des consommateurs et des citoyens pour les services en lignes), le coût du KWh va connaître une augmentation significative dans les années à venir. Dans le Data Center, ces deux phénomènes se conjuguent et la consommation énergétique, qui représente d’ores et déjà l’un des postes les plus importants dans le coût d’hébergement d’un SI, va devenir critique.

Parallèlement à cet aspect économique, les facteurs environnementaux et réglementaires vont eux aussi contribuer à mettre l’énergie au premier rang des préoccupations des opérateurs de Data Center. À l’échelon national, européen ou international, normes et taxes pousseront à limiter l’empreinte carbone des infrastructures informatiques et la mise en place à court terme par l’Union Européenne du Code de Conduite sur l’efficacité énergétique des centres informatiques préfigure sans doute cette nouvelle approche.

Un défi majeur pour les infogérants
Pour les infogérants, cette montée en puissance de l’enjeu énergétique constitue un défi majeur. Liés par des engagements de service, tenus par des exigences de coûts, ils doivent d’urgence industrialiser leur gestion de l’énergie afin de permettre à leurs clients de maîtriser les contraintes économiques et écologiques de leur SI. Dans ce contexte, mettre le Data Center à l’état de l’art immobilier (urbanisation des salles avec zones différenciées pour les hautes et basses densités, allées chaudes et froides, grande hauteur sous plafond…) ne suffit plus. Aujourd’hui, les infogérants ne peuvent plus se contenter de réagir en tentant d’optimiser leurs installations : ils se doivent d’être proactifs en définissant une véritable stratégie énergétique pour leur Data Center.

À la base de cette stratégie, le PUE (Power Usage Effectiveness) est en passe de s’imposer comme l’élément de mesure standard. Pour que cet indicateur, qui permet d’évaluer la qualité des infrastructures et leur poids dans la consommation électrique totale, ait un sens, il faut cependant des normes afin que le périmètre et les conditions de calcul soient identiques pour tous (il est notamment indispensable que l’évaluation ait lieu sur une année pleine de manière à intégrer, entre autre, les variations saisonnières). Par ailleurs, des outils, des méthodes et des modèles sont indispensables pour mesurer régulièrement et avec fiabilité le PUE et l’exploiter. À l’image de la démarche d’audit énergétique développée conjointement par Bull et Schneider/APC, ces nouveaux moyens permettront à l’infogérant de piloter au quotidien l’efficacité énergétique de son Data Center.

Les Data Centers de Bull à la pointe de l’efficacité énergétique
Spécialiste de l’infogérance de systèmes critiques, Bull a d’ores et déjà entrepris de s’adapter à cette nouvelle donne énergétique. Ces dernières années, Bull a constamment fait évoluer ses deux Data Centers principaux en se conformant aux normes et aux standards les plus exigeants (le centre principal d’hébergement est soumis à autorisation ICPE avec en particulier 2 500 m² de bureaux chauffés par récupération des calories des salles machines, la suppression des tours aéro-réfrigérantes, la mise en place de systèmes anti-incendie sans impact pour l’environnement, la maîtrise des dépenses énergétiques, le traitement des bruits générés en toiture…

Mais aujourd’hui la généralisation des racks, très consommateurs d’énergie, réclame d’aller plus loin que les agencements actuels et de recourir à des solutions innovantes (cold corridors, portes froides à eau glacée…). Afin de disposer de tous les moyens indispensables à une stratégie énergétique performante, Bull construit actuellement sur son Data Center principal une zone de 500 m2 dans une logique entièrement ‘Green’ : onduleurs de dernière génération, free cooling (utilisation des frigories naturelles), nombreux capteurs pour un pilotage énergétique en temps réel, infrastructures haute performance adaptées aux environnements de très haute densité comme le calcul intensif (HPC), processus de services industrialisés pour une qualité maximale, minimisation de l’empreinte carbone…

Des investissements dans tous les domaines
Au niveau opérationnel, le Code de Conduite s’ajoutera probablement aux normes existantes qu’exigeront de plus en plus les entreprises dans leurs cahiers des charges. Déjà certifié ISO 9001 et Hosting SAP Partner, conforme aux processus ITIL, Bull va s’atteler à son application, de même qu’ont été entreprises d’importantes démarches pour obtenir les certifications ISO 27001 et ISO 20000.

Afin de pouvoir aborder rapidement les nouveaux projets de ses clients, Bull fournit l’indispensable effort de mise à niveau de ses ressources sur les nouvelles technologies avec un effort de formation permanent. Tous les ingrédients sont réunis pour optimiser les prestations : mutualisation et industrialisation, adaptation constante de la sécurité, embauches régulières…

L’ensemble de ces investissements répond au besoin de rechercher en permanence la performance et la flexibilité de nos services. Cela signifie non seulement garantir des niveaux de services élevés, adaptables aux contraintes métier de chaque client, mais aussi faire preuve de réactivité face à l’évolution des besoins, offrir une granularité des offres permettant une différenciation optimale, assurer des services d’ingénierie et d’urbanisation, pouvoir intégrer rapidement de nouvelles technologies, être prêt pour l’émergence de l’infogérance HPC… Et tout cela avec un unique objectif : la maîtrise des coûts.

ENVOYER A UN AMI POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS
 
Contact  |  Site map  |  Legal  |  Privacy

Contents
Editorial
Tribune
Hot topics
Business cases
Experts voice
Solutions
At a glance
Events
PDF version
 

Subscribe to
Bull Direct:


 

Archives
N°35  |  March   2009
Experts voice

Outsourcing becomes energy aware 
Philippe Pauty, Director of Bull’s outsourcing business and the Bull Data Center at Angers

L. Mourer

As resources, IT hardware and processes are increasingly shared and industrialized, outsourcing offers private and public sector organizations an effective response to the business challenges they face. But outsourcing providers are rapidly going to find they have a new challenge to contend with: energy management. In order to face the economic, environmental and regulatory constraints brought about by the explosion in energy costs, they will have to take a much more structured and professional approach to controlling expenditure on a day-to-day basis. To meet its own commitments as outsourcing provider, Bull is reacting rapidly to this new imperative: investing significant amounts and making innovative changes at its Angers and Paris outsourcing facilities.

 

In today’s difficult economic climate, information systems have never been more critical to organizational performance, whether in the public or private sector. In order to meet the legitimate expectations of the businesses they support, information systems must be demonstrably agile, while at the same time delivering faultless service quality. For IT Departments, achieving this dual objective means facing innumerable challenges day after day: implementing new services (sometimes within unusually short timescales), integrating new technologies, meeting availability and security requirements, dealing with rapidly expanding amounts of data and ever greater complexity, managing heterogeneous facilities… All on an increasingly tight budget. 

By ensuring that customers have access to the resources, infrastructures and state-of-the-art methods they need – while also offering contractual guarantees for service quality and cost control – outsourcing enables companies and public sector bodies to get the best out of their information systems, which are evolving at the same pace as their business. Bull has built-up significant expertise in the area that is now known as IT governance, and draws on its industrial resources to guarantee customers optimum levels of services at reasonable cost. At the heart of this strategy is a truly industrial-scale resource: the Data Center. Bull is constantly updating its Data Center facilities, by using state-of-the-art technologies and industrialized service processes, adopting best practices and constantly updating its technical and business skill-base.   

Energy efficiency – an emerging challenge 
However, a new consideration is starting to emerge, fundamentally turning the technical and economic equation of the Data Center upside down: energy consumption. While the demands on IT continue to grow apace (partly, for example, because consumers and citizens want more and more on-line services), the cost per kWh will also increase significantly in years to come. In the Data Center, these two phenomena combine so that energy consumption – which already represents one of the most significant cost centers in the overall hosting of an information system – will become absolutely critical.

In parallel with this economic aspect, environmental and regulatory factors will also play a role in putting energy at the top of the Data Center operator’s list of concerns. At national, European or international level, new standards and taxes will increase the pressure to limit the carbon footprint of IT infrastructures, and forthcoming introduction of the EU energy efficiency Code of Conduct for Data Centers definitely heralds this new approach.   

A major challenge for outsourcing providers 
The fact that energy efficiency is an increasing pressing issue, is a major challenge for outsourcing providers. Tied into Service Level Agreements and constrained by cost considerations, they urgently need to industrialize energy management so their customers can in turn control the cost and environmental limitations of their information systems. Against this backdrop, simply controlling energy in the Data Center at a physical level (by dividing machine rooms into different zones for high and low density, hot and cold corridors, very high ceilings…) is no longer enough. Today, outsourcing providers can no longer respond just by optimizing their IT installations: they need to be pro-active in defining a veritable energy strategy for their Data Centers.  

Underlying this strategy, Power Usage Effectiveness (PUE) is coming to be accepted as the standard metric. If this indicator – which is used to assess infrastructure quality, and the proportion of the total power consumed attributable to this infrastructure – is to have any meaning, it is essential that standards are established so the scope and conditions for calculating it are identical for all aspects of the process. And it is vital that the assessment continues over a whole year, so as to take account, among other things, for seasonal variations. In addition, tools, methods and models are essential when it comes to measuring PUE regularly and reliably, and making the most of it. Like the energy audit process developed jointly by Bull and Schneider/APC, these new kinds of approaches will enable outsourcing providers to control the energy efficiency of their Data Center from day to day.

Bull’s Data Centers at the forefront of energy efficiency 
As a specialist in the outsourcing of critical systems, Bull has already started to adapt itself to this new energy imperative. In recent years, Bull has been constantly modernizing its two main Data Centers to conform to the most stringent norms and standards. Its main hosting center has achieved ICPE authorization, most notably with 2,500 m² of office space heated using waste heat from the machine rooms, the removal of all air-cooling towers, the implementation of environmentally-friendly fire protection systems, careful monitoring and control of energy expenditure, noise reduction systems in the roof space…

But today the widespread use of racks – which consume a great deal of energy – means it is even more urgent to move beyond the current installations, and use innovative solutions such as cold corridors and doors cooled using iced water. In order to ensure it has access to all the essential resources for an effective energy strategy, Bull is currently building a 500m2 ‘Green’ area at its main Data Center. This will have latest generation uninterruptible power supplies, free cooling (using natural cooling methods), numerous sensors for real-time energy monitoring, high-performance infrastructures designed for very high density environments, such as High-Performance Computing (HPC), industrialized service processes for optimum quality and minimal carbon footprint…

Investments in every area
At an operational level, the EU Code of Conduct will no doubt add to current standards, which are placing ever greater demands on outsourcing companies. But Bull – which has achieved ISO 9001 certification and is an approved SAP Hosting Partner, and conforms with ITIL processes – will strive diligently to apply the new Code, just as it did when significant endeavors were made to obtain ISO 27001 and ISO 20000 certification.

In order to support customers’ new projects as quickly as possible, Bull is making the necessary investment in updating its new technology resources through on-going training programs. All the ingredients are being brought together to optimize its service offerings: sharing and industrialization of resources, constant adaptation of security and regular recruitment drives…

The combined effect of these investments responds to the need for constant improvements in the performance and flexibility of our service offerings. This means not just guaranteeing high levels of service, tailored to each customer’s business constraints, but also demonstrating our ability to react in the face of changing requirements, and to offer different levels of services for optimum differentiation between them, to provide information systems engineering and ‘urbanization’ services, to rapidly integrate new technologies, and to be ready for the emergence of HPC outsourcing… And in the name of a single objective: controlling cost. 

* ICPE: Installations Classified for the Protection of the Environment

SEND TO A FRIEND
 
Contact  |  Site map  |  Legal  |  Privacy